My Beauty is Desired

There are a couple psalms that I have starred, underlined, highlighted, you name it, in my agpeya. One of them, a third hour psalm, is psalm 44 (45 in the Bible). Although parts of it I don’t necessarily get 100%, there’s this one part that just gets me, pulls at my heart, every time I read it.

Listen, O daughter, Consider and incline your ear; Forget your own people also, and your father’s house;
So the King will greatly desire your beauty; Because He is your Lord, worship Him. (v 10-11).

Golly! The King, the King thinks I am so desirable! He looks at my beauty and cannot help Himself but think, now she is a beautiful woman! And for that beauty I am greatly desired!

It may sound like I’m making way too big a deal, but think about it with me. We all want to be desired. Isn’t that why we take time to do our hair, try on 5 different outfits in the morning only to choose the first option, try to sound interesting to the people we interact with? We as humans have this innate desire to be desired!

Taking all that into consideration, look back at those couple verses.

Did you do it?

Makes a little more sense now why I’m so in love with this verse, right? I am being told, you are being told, that you are so beautiful that the King, the One who could have anyone and anything in the world, looks at you and sees you as beautiful, as unique, as one who is greatly desired. He wants and loves you so much He says, “forget your father’s house, forget everyone else, because I want you!”

How’s that for an awesome start of your day?

One thought on “My Beauty is Desired

Leave a Reply

