Oh To Be Young and Carefree

As I sit in the Kansas City airport with my Step I First Aid book open in front of me, memories of my childhood keep coming to me.

20130913-074747.jpg

Although it’s a pretty simple airport, changes have been made since I was 9. There are no longer little spaces where a kid could crawl in beside the windows, no hide outs behind the Kansas City Star machine, and no 6 year old brother to hide from. Now I’m living over 1000 miles away from my parents, about the same distance from my now-in-college brother, studying for D-day (that is USMLE Step I day), worrying about my deadlines and to-dos.

Stress is high and hope not as prevalent as in a 9 year old girl. I’m exhausted physically, emotionally, spiritually, and yet I have no choice but to press on.

Some days I just want to be that crazy little girl playing hide and seek in the airport with my brother while waiting for the next great adventure. Don’t you?

For now I’ll just sit here reading about hormones and sipping my pumpkin spice latte.

But Jesus said, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 19:14)
Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28)

Leave a Reply

