These Hard Times

Indeed the hour is coming, yes, has now come, that you will be scattered, each to his own, and will leave Me alone. And yet I am not alone, because the Father is with Me. These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (‭John‬ ‭16‬:‭32-33‬)

It used to bug me how this chapter ended. Christ is saying we will scatter, He is saying that we will have tribulations, but then He tells us to be of good cheer because He has overcome the world.
Seriously?
I then realized that this should give us joy because if He overcame, then we too will overcome. He wouldn’t just say it to rub it in that He overcame the world. There’s a purpose and that is that if He has overcome the world, so will I.

Doesn’t St. Paul tell us that “if we have been united together in the likeness of His death, certainly we also shall be in the likeness of His resurrection” (Rom 6:5)?
Christ overcoming means me overcoming. The Father being with Christ means the Father being with me. This truly is good news.

Switching gears just a bit, when I read this passage about the third time through something else hit me: it’s not about me; it’s about Him.
Why I was so irritated by that statement initially was because I was reading it while thinking, ‘Well, what about me? What good is that going to do me?’ Where is the focus of these questions? Me. And that’s the problem.
None of this, no part of my life is about me. It’s all about Him. I’ll have good times and I’ll have hard times, but regardless it’s all about Him and His kingdom.

So yes, I will have tribulations in this life, but I should be of good cheer because Christ overcame and because Christ overcame the door to His kingdom is open and because His kingdom is open we have salvation.

None if this is about me, but all of this is for me.

20140723-121037-43837644.jpg

Leave a Reply

