There Is A Crack In The Door Filled With Light

IMG_8577
“The biggest and most disastrous moments  in a person’s life can be the most defining of a person’s character , and a person’s heart.” – David Willard

This month I’m hanging out in Joplin, Missouri for one of my rotations. My new roommates took me to this park across the street that is a memorial for the volunteers and those who were affected by the tornado in 2011. The entire park was beautiful and there were many great quotes and aspects, but one in particular caught my attention. That quote is the one above.

What happened in Joplin was devastating. 161 lives were lost. Homes, businesses, safe havens were all destroyed. Everyone in town lost something. Everyone in town was affected. And out of the devastation, they overcame. Out of the ashes, they rose.
The park is Joplin’s beauty.
The park is Joplin’s strength.

This park–this quote–helped to put things in perspective.

When tragedy hits, when disaster strikes, how do I react? Am I down and out or will I get up and find my strength?
How I react to the disasters in my life will define my character and my heart. It’s not easy to get back up when a storm knocks you down, physically or metaphorically, but if you can do it, you will come out that much stronger.

I’m in the process of getting myself back up. There are days I don’t want to get up in the morning. There are nights anger and sadness overwhelm me. And on my own I will never get up.
That’s where the beauty of grace comes in: “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness”(2 Cor 12:9).
When I place my trust in God, when I rely fully on Him, He will take my weakness, my inability to get back up, and He will lift me to heights I’ve never reached.

What you are going through is very real.
But you are not alone.
And this too shall pass.

I will leave you with a song that has comforted me the last couple weeks:

Leave a Reply

