I Am Rich

“Command those who are rich in this present age not to be haughty, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy.”‭- 1 Timothy‬ ‭6:17‬

It’s amazing how I act as if God is holding out on me, how I decide to take matters into my own hands as if God isn’t already doing things in my life, as if He isn’t giving richly.

We talk about the parable of the prodigal son, but in that story it is the father who is prodigal. He gives and gives and gives to his lost son despite the fact that the son was young and reckless. And when the son returned, the father threw an extravagant, lavish party celebrating his return. We know that this parable is about God the Father and us, His children, who wish to take what we think is rightfully ours and leave the safety of His house. God truly is the prodigal Father. He gives far more than I could ever hope to deserve. And yet I act as if He is trying to keep me from having the things that will make me happy.

> But He gives me richly.

> He gives me all things.

> He gives me so that I may enjoy.

Leave a Reply

